Starting Off 2012

It’s not like I didn’t have anything to say in 2011, I just didn’t take the time to put it in the form of a blog. I blog for work, so I have been blogging – it’s just been about stuff my employers have been interested in.

Locally, politics have not been as bats**t crazy as when the former city mayor was in office, so I haven’t had too much to say on the local occurrences. I will say that I’m glad that it’s finally caucus day in Iowa – it’s about time the Republicans narrow their field a little. It certainly seemed like Herman Cain had no idea what he was getting himself into. Having touched a couple of female backsides in my life (usually with at least tacit permission), I know enough that if someone wants to complain, it will most likely happen as soon as you get involved in the most important thing you’ll ever get involved in. Which is why I’m amazed that former House Speaker Gingrich lasted as long as he did. Way too much baggage

Here’s the thing. Since the networks are camping out in Des Moines, Gov. Terry Branstad has been using the attention on Iowa to be hypercritical of Pres. Obama, blaming him for jacking up the national debt “a trillion dollars a year.” No blame for the House Republicans who have been stonewalling any type of progress on fixing the economy. Just playing Fox News’ “class warfare” card, claiming the Administration is freezing job growth by demanding a tax hike for the “job creators.” Of course, while the president has been calling for higher taxes for the super rich, they’re still paying taxes at the Bush tax cut rate. That said, where the heck are the jobs they’re supposed to be creating? They’re not paying higher taxes right now, haven’t been for an Administration and a half – so where are those jobs, again?

Family Fun Time

Stephen and Maria Roberts (Thanks for coming!)

I’m finishing up five days off work, but they’ve been busy enough that it feels like I’ve been working. My sister and her husband were here for the holiday. My TV pal, Joe Larkins, and his lovely bride Bethany Smith, hooked us up with tickets to the Liberty Bowl. The incredibly unseasonable weather made it a nice way to spend an afternoon. After a nice dinner at the new restaurant in the Westin, we wandered over to Beale Street to watch some of the New Year’s Eve run-up. Okay, here’s the funny part. We had to show ID and get scanned to get onto the street. Not as bad as Times Square, but still a tiny hassle. But by the time we leave just before the Tigers game lets out and thousands of additional folks streamed onto the street, the security team had stopped screening people and was enjoying some pizza. I guess it was okay. I watched the Guitar Drop on TV later and everything went off without a hitch. One quibble. Back when WMC was covering NYE, it was a TV show about the event itself. The weird melange of a show WKNO is doing has some live coverage and taped pieces promoting stops along Beale Street. I’d rather have a completely live show. Then I wouldn’t have to turn to Kathy “Look at me, I’ve got a potty mouth” Griffin and Anderson “She embarrasses me every year, and I’m so easily embarrassed” Cooper on CNN. Kathy, don’t take your top off anymore – no one wants to see a 50-year old woman (and her 50-year old breasts) in Time Square.

One thought on “Starting Off 2012

Leave a comment