Exit… Stage Right

I’m on the move. Just as things look like they’re getting white hot in downtown Memphis, I’m heading to the other side of town.

10402460_10205562095544670_7556007025699362131_n

The olde homestead

I moved into my townhouse on Carolina Avenue right after Faxon-Gillis finished building it (not quite finished, more on that in a bit). It was part of a lot of the new construction going on downtown, and I had lived downtown in my first Memphis sojourn, so I wanted to be there when things took off. The housing market had started to slip when I bought in 2008, but I did not expect things to come to a screaming halt, but the economic collapse did just that.

So I’m heading to Cordova. Not that I ever had any plans to move to that particular part of Memphis. I’m not an East Memphis type. Not an outside I-240 type at all. But I work on that side of town – and my girlfriend lives there. Of course, some guys believe (I know because they’ve told me) that having a place to go to when you’re not with your significant other can be a good thing. And it has been handy to have a downtown location when you’re going to the FedEx Forum, the Orpheum, Cook Convention Center, River Arts Fest or any number of other events. Still, it’s a lot of driving.

10704154_10204548495005290_2927897258396376082_n

She’s smiling because of all the chores she’s got lined up for me

Because of that, and other stuff, the gal pal and I will be sharing an address. After all, who wouldn’t want to spend all their time with a well-known former TV personality (she is – I’m was never as well known when I was on Memphis TV). It’s a nice house on a hill – and it’s directly across the street from her parents (whuuuuuuut?)!

There certainly won’t be the same level of quirkiness along Germantown Parkway as there is downtown (Music Fest just ended; BBQ Fest will be underway the day the movers are here). Sure, there’s an IHOP around the corner from the new place, but the Arcade is just around the corner from the old place. As is Ernestine and Hazel’s and all the other wacky and wild downtown destinations.

One thing I will miss being here for is the Main Street to Main Street project connecting downtown Memphis to West Memphis over the Harahan Bridge. I haven’t been riding my bike as much as I used to – but Carolina is on the path – so in a year or so, I could have taken the pathway over the river, instead of dodging cars on downtown streets. Although I have enjoyed some decent views between here and Mud Island.

10509288_10203449985663243_427847554_o

View from a bike ride

One of my co-workers has already let me know the quickest pathway from where I’ll be living to get to Shelby Farms and the Greenline.

Anyway, we’d been having internal discussions about the move since last fall, and while I was planning to put the townhouse on the market, I hadn’t gotten around to it. Interestedly, several of the other houses on the row have sold recently, and someone wanted to bid on the place two doors down, but didn’t get the chance before it sold. I had a “Make Me Move” price listed on Zillow.com he had seen, so he asked his real estate agent call to see if I was interested in selling. They made a good enough offer that made it a simple decision.

Here’s the thing. There are often repairs sellers have to make after a home inspector checks out a property. I had a couple of windows that needed repair. Cody (the repair guy from County Glass) told me that the he uses a ribbon of silicone to help hold windows in place and prevent drafts. Turns out when Faxon-Gillis built the home in the first place, they used double-sided tape. Here’s the good part – the installer never took the paper off one side of the tape – so when Cody opened the sash, the glass just fell out. Fortunately, he and a co-worker were there to catch it.

68196_4481513788874_1274294352_n

If you haven’t read it, it’s still news

Phone’s turned off. First time since 1975 I haven’t had a land-line. Did you know that when you go to the U.S. Postal Service website to change your address, you change update your voter registration at the same time? And I’ve let the weekend crew at Lifeblood on Madison that I’ll be donating in Germantown in the future. Well, I’ve got to finish packing – and I’ve got to remember to change the address on my Commercial Appeal subscription when I renew. I’m sure Pam will appreciate the coupons in Wednesday and Sunday’s papers. I’ll be able to keep up with the stuff going on downtown that I wasn’t actually attending when I lived there.

About Doug Johnson

I spent 25 years in the news business, working in print, radio and television. After a steady rise to the middle, I made the leap to the private sector, which chewed and then tried spitting me out after 2 years. I zigged (instead of zagging) into a position in television production.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exit… Stage Right

  1. Comcast says:

    You’re leaving just when they’re turning the old Loflin Safe and Lock at Carolina and Florida to a bar/grill. You could have stumbled right in the front door.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

