So, what’s going on with you?

I won’t start out this post by noting how little I’ve posted in the previous year (it was once, by the way). It’s not that I’ve been too busy to post, because that hasn’t been the case. And it’s not that I haven’t had anything to say, judging from all the stuff I’ve posted on Facebook (Facebook – now the home for old people everywhere! Want to share information and be fairly sure your kids won’t see it? Put it on Facebook! Think I’m kidding? http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57572154-93/why-teens-are-tiring-of-facebook/)

I did have a few milestones in 2013.  Right before the end of last year, I bought a new car.  Paid cash for it (nice feeling). I do miss my old Celica.  13 years, 130,000 miles. I traveled, spending a week in Jamaica with my true love, as well as my sister and her husband. All-inclusive resorts are the way to go.

Image

Wastin’ away again…

 

Image

Ready to run

I got fat in 2013, pushing the scales at 250+, but I also got thin, using the aforementioned Jamaica vacation to lose some weight (a lot of walking around) – and another weight loss contest at work helped me burn off another 30 pounds. But I’ve got to be careful – I’ve lost 90 pounds in 3 contests at my current job – which means I’ve gained back the weight twice. Don’t want to do that again. The big payoff for getting into shape was going to be running in a 5K for St. Jude in December. Who knew an ice storm would shut down the race? It also shut down work for a day (I don’t feel bad about that at all, to tell the truth). But I have tried to stick with the fitness, getting my money’s worth out of the treadmill I bought a couple of years ago.

 

I also got to see the family at Thanksgiving and Christmas. My nephews and niece continue to grow up too fast. I guess that’s the way it goes when you only see them once a year. Just so you can see how we’ve changed, one photo is Mom and the kids from November and the other one (which is hanging on my mother’s wall) is from 1967 or 68. I’m still very cute.

Image

Now.

 

 

Image

Then.

I’m going to try and find more to talk about this year. No point in having a blog if it doesn’t getting blogged on, right? Anyway, there’s a mayoral race coming up, the city is trying to work itself out of a pension mess, the suburban cities are starting their own school systems and they’re trying to sell the baseball team and the ballpark (Maybe we can get Bass Pro to put an annex in at AutoZone Park).

Image

Look – someone still reads the paper!

And hey – you keep reading – and I’ll keep writing.

About Doug Johnson

I spent 25 years in the news business, working in print, radio and television. After a steady rise to the middle, I made the leap to the private sector, which chewed and then tried spitting me out after 2 years. I zigged (instead of zagging) into a position in television production.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So, what’s going on with you?

  1. Scott Sutherland says:

    Nice picture of you with the paper. I like the filtering you’ve done. My Mom retired from First Tennessee Bank building directly behind your left ear (Court at DT). She got me part-time job there doing some kind of data-processing-entry-level-work when I was about 21-22 years old. I worked there one week and quit because it was sooooo incredibly boring. I went back to Garibaldi’s Pizza where at least there were college coeds and draft beer. I owe Mike Garibaldi big time.

Leave a Reply

