Effective Uses of Time

It’s been so long since I’ve posted something on the blog (May 9th to be exact), that WordPress has redesigned the entire posting area!  Okay, maybe they did it earlier today, but I’d have no idea of that. I’d like to say that I’ve been using that time ultra-effectively, but then again, I don’t want to lie to the entire blogosphere (anyway, my Mom reads the blog, and I wouldn’t want her thinking I’m fibbing about stuff).

I’ve done variations on the “getting old sucks” thing, but I’ve been noticing it a lot lately. After I crashed the bike last year, it took several months before I was willing to get back in the saddle. Even so, I don’t ride with the abandon I used to. That’s because I just wrapped up two months of physical therapy, several months after the fact. Seems I was developing adhesive capsulitis in my right shoulder. I had the same problem a few years ago in my left shoulder, so I knew how bad it could get.  Back in the day, though, I probably could have ridden the bike into a wall and just needed to brush myself off.

Oww!

So, I’m a bit gunshy on the bike. At least I can jog. After switching to the Vibram 5-finger shoes, my nagging knee pain went away. So of course, I developed plantar fasciitis in my right foot!  At the same time, I found that I was having trouble staying upright. A couple of weeks ago, I was heading south on Main Street when I caught a toe on the sidewalk (not in a crack or on uneven pavement – just on the sidewalk) and took a tumble, scrapping a knee, an elbow and both hands. I’ve switched to a lightweight Nike shoe, the Free 3.0 v.2 to see if I can manage to put one foot in front of the other without any more damage.

Here’s my beef about running downtown. For the most part, it’s either sidewalk or street. Now, as I understand it (and please correct me if I’m wrong), keeping the sidewalks in some state of repair is the responsibility of the corresponding property owner. That means every property owner on Tennessee, Front, Linden, Main and Patterson needs to get cracking on fixing their cracked sidewalks. Every single one. Okay, so why don’t you run in the street Doug? Thanks for asking. Because the city does an even worse job of making sure the streets are passable. Most of Front in the South Main district is in some level of repaving, but that project is running on C.T. (City Time), which means the old asphalt is up and the streets have been regrooved, but it’ll be a few more weeks before new pavement is put down. I know, budget problems.

And even when there’s a stretch of sidewalk where there is some grass to fall on in case of emergency, it’s the length of Tennessee Street between Georgia and G.E. Patterson, which means all the dog owners who live in the condos along Tennessee use that grass as a dog crap holder. Apparently, picking up behind your dog is just not something downtown residents can be bothered with. And dear readers, not to gross you out any more than I’ve been, it may be that a couple of those people own small horses, based on the piles left in the grass.  Running down that street when it’s hot outside is like being locked in a Port-a-Potty. Not one of the upsides of downtown living.

On an up note, I hit the two-year mark at my current job. In a couple of months, I will have worked there as long as I was at FedEx, where it seems like there are more people in the Communications Department than when I was let go because of the economy. I guess things are better over there. I’m heading up to Ohio soon, where several family members work for the state. The governor up there is one of those mad GOP union-busting budget cutters. I’m hoping they’re all still working by the time I get up there.

Leave a Reply

