Here We Go Again…

Like this, but with less hair on top

I, ladies and gentlemen, am an endomorph. That’s the type of person who’s a little more round around the edges than anything else. If I ate well and exercised on a regular basis, that probably wouldn’t make too much difference. Of course, like many of us, I take advantage of the wondrous bounty that is America’s breadbasket. On top of that, I developed hypothyroidism back in 2001. So my thyroid doesn’t produce enough of the hormone that fuels my metabolism. So I’m a little lazy, don’t always eat right, have a body that tends to hold extra weight and have a medical condition that makes it difficult to lose weight.

Weighty Issues

At 5’10”, the traditional height and weight tables suggest I should weight somewhere between 150 and 175 pounds. And I did – in high school. Usually, I’m in the 210 to 230 range. Just before I blew out my thyroid in ’01, I was really watching my diet and running 10 to 15 miles a week. Over the course of about 9 months, I went from 245 to 186. Developed a wicked case of shin splints in my left leg and the thyroid thing, but managed to keep most of the weight off for a year or two.

Last year, we had a weight loss contest at work. I lost about 35 pounds over 12 weeks and only came in second in the contest. As with many people who lose a lot of weight in a short-ish time, I managed to gain much of it back (my recent cruise didn’t help).

Since I kept the records for last year’s contest, I’ve been dragooned into doing it again this year. My goal is 25 pounds; I’ll be reporting my progress over the next 12 weeks. A good thing is that I’m due for a follow-up at my doctor’s office right about then – and he’s on me to drop a few pounds. The real challenge isn’t losing, it’ll be keeping it off.

2 thoughts on “Here We Go Again…

  1. Hey Doug,
    Good luck. But here’s a secret and it’s an annoying one: We all have to eat less and burn more calories to lose weight. That’s it. There’s no big secret. It’s a lifestyle thing. Even movie stars, body builders etc, “bulk” up their muscle with intensive workouts and diets but the minute they go back to the regular life–it comes back on.
    As for me I gotta quit eating peanut M&Ms and Trader Joe’s chocolate almond bars! Yum. If I don’t have them around the house..I’m good!
    LOVE YOU!!

Leave a Reply

