A Bit on the Cruel Side

“April is the cruellest month, breeding lilacs out of the dead land, mixing memory and desire, stirring dull roots with spring rain…”

Kyra & her beau

You may know the opening line of T.S. Eliot’s “The Waste Land.” This particular April hasn’t been altogether bad for me. My older brother and many friends of mine celebrate their birthdays in April, which is a good thing. I found out that an anchor I used to write for got engaged. It was one of those “cute” engagements, he took her golfing, which she loves, then he took a knee and proposed at the 18th green. Great story. It’s spring, so the weather has gotten a lot nicer – even with the heavy coating of tree pollen blanketing the region.

Still, there are reminders that there is cruelty out there. Deadly tornadoes sweep through the South. Coal mine disaster in West Virginia. Earthquake in China. North Korea torpedoes a South Korean naval vessel. Senate Republicans stymie financial reform for Wall Street (gotta keep the contributors happy).

I called my Mom on Easter Sunday. Not because it was Easter, but because it was her 57th wedding anniversary. I don’t talk to her nearly enough, but I always feel a bit conflicted about calling her in April. My father passed away four years ago. It was four days after their anniversary that year. They had retired to Ocala, Florida after spending their lives in Ohio. She decided to stay in Florida, even though the rest of the family’s up in Ohio. The weather’s better and they had made a lot of friends. That’s good, ’cause she never learned how to drive, and she’s got a great bunch of people who are happy to carry her from place to place. Still, even though she’s busy and happy, I know she misses Dad. I need to call her more often.

On the DL

I started out Tuesday on a good note, not only getting out to do two miles before work, but I was also able to give a passerby directions. We were at Front and Linden and he was supposed to be on Summer near I-40. The map feature on the iPhone is pretty handy.

After that, the day went downhill quickly. I recently produced a commercial for GERD. That’s gastroesophageal reflux disease. So I knew the intense pressure building in my back wasn’t a good thing. It’s happened a couple of times before, and my doctor has suggested that I keep some antacids handy. That didn’t solve the problem. Neither did the Prilosec. I got to work, but only lasted an hour before leaving nearly doubled over. The pain faded after an hour, but roared back and lasted until after 6. I’m hoping for a better Wednesday.

(Oh, by the way, after mentioning that only one person had subscribed to get email updates of when the blog updates, the total is…. still one.)

Leave a Reply

