Going Home

I read with sadness of the passing of Ben Hooks. The Rev. Dr. Hooks was not only a longtime local religious leader, he was executive director of the NAACP for 15 years. I had the pleasure of speaking to him several times when I worked at Channel 3, and I was always impressed by his intelligence, manner and bearing. I also ran into Dr. Hooks and his wife Frances at the Piccadilly Restaurant near Poplar and Highland.

1925-2010

It was always amazing to me that for years, he was not only the main pastor of Greater Middle Baptist here, but was the main pastor of Greater New Mt. Moriah Missionary Baptist in Detroit, while running the NAACP. That’s a lot of work, and doesn’t take in his work as a judge and a commissioner on the Federal Communications Commission. If anything, I think the thing that I always liked was the lack of controversy surrounding Dr. Hooks. In a time where it seems like our local leaders court trouble at every turn, here was a man who worked for the betterment of everyone.

We’ll miss you Dr. Hooks.

About Doug Johnson

I spent 25 years in the news business, working in print, radio and television. After a steady rise to the middle, I made the leap to the private sector, which chewed and then tried spitting me out after 2 years. I zigged (instead of zagging) into a position in television production.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

