Is This For Real?

Hello Sun

It’s been kinda nice over the last few days, although it got cold and wet going from Saturday to Sunday. And although the forecast suggests it’s going to be cool on Monday, the forecast from the Weather Channel folks also suggests it’s going to be sunny and warm (darn near hot) all week long. This might be one of those situations where I can put the top down. Almost makes keeping the convertible worth it.

I always know spring is supposed to begin. It’s usually within a day of my sister’s birthday, so it’s easy to keep track of. It’s been miserable enough this winter to really look forward to spring. I mean, we had two snow days at work – I don’t remember ever getting two days off work because of the weather! In a month or two, it’s going to be so hot, we’re all going to miss winter, but for now, I’m happy for the change.

You Can Stop Mocking Now

People seem hard-pressed to believe that I actually watch wrestling on TV. I watched when I was a kid. I can remember my dad trying to get it across to my grandmother that there’s a little bit of “made up” in wrestling. He’d holler, “it’s not real, Myrtle!” when she’d get concerned about the grandkids watching the bodies fly across the black and white TV in her living room on Hawthorne Avenue. I even went out for wrestling in high school. Didn’t make the team, and frankly, it was the hardest work I’ve ever done.

Sure, the results are predetermined. Yes, when a guy throws a punch, he also slams his foot down to create his own sound effect. Yes, there’s an absurd amount of baby oil and body shaving involved. And yes, there’s an obscene amount of silicone in use by the women in wrestling. But hey, isn’t that true about soap operas? Okay, maybe not, but notice this, the athletes in real major league sports are fans of wrestling too, so they can find the entertainment value. I think it’s more entertaining than MMA because you know that wrestlers will usually be able to walk away at the end of a match.

Anyway, imagine my surprise when I see the latest installment of “The American Spirit” segment on the CBS Evening News. Here they are, profiling an athlete who uses his celebrity to support the National Guard’s Youth Challenge Program. Not only that, he’s a guy who served prison time (9 and a half years of an 18 and a half year sentence) before turning his life around. Anyway, Alvin Burke wrestles under the name Montel Vontavius Porter, or “MVP.” The made-up backstory was that he was courted and signed to a wrestling contact much the same way as a free agent in football.

Ballin'!!

So, here’s a guy in what’s considered a phony sport being recognized as someone who can motivate young people in a positive manner. In fact, he’s working with an organization connected to state and federal governments. The CBS News website even has video of Dale Earnhardt Jr. commenting on why MVP is a positive role model (this is where the snarkers come in noting that NASCAR isn’t a real sport either).

So yeah, since I’m at trivia on Mondays, I DVR Raw and watch it later. I also DVR Friday Night Smackdown (which for some reason, airs on Saturdays here). I occasionally watch TNA, the TV retirement home for former WWE personalities (Ric Flair, Hulk Hogan, Mick Foley, Booker T, Kurt Angle, Jeff Hardy, RVD, Brian Kendrick, Christy Hemme, Eric Bischoff, Jimmy Hart, Taz, the Dudleys, and a couple of others I’m probably missing). And yes, I’m watching the Wrestlemania pay-per-view as I write this.

3 thoughts on “Is This For Real?

  1. Wait a minute. Are you trying to tell me that professional wrasslin’ is faked? Mister, you can leave on the train that brought you here! I don’t want to hear it.
    Regards,
    Joe

  2. My dad told me that he was visiting my grandfather (his father-in-law) not long after my grandfather acquired his very first TV set. It may have been steam-driven for all I know as this supposedly happened back in the 50s. My grandfather watched “wrasslin” on TV on the only channel it would receive and apparently got quite upset at the folks “going at it” there on the tube. It seems my grandfather was quite close to having a “conniption” at what was taking place. Apparently he liked it even less when my dad suggested rather strongly that the event on TV was staged and my grandfather argued otherwise to the point that my dad just quit arguing and left the room. My dad never was much a TV viewer even later in life. Maybe he figured everything he saw was kind of like “wrasslin”. Just wanted to share.

Leave a Reply

