It’s All About Timing

I think the best job I had was when I was a maintenance man at a McDonald’s when I was in college. Sure it was janitorial, and yes, it took about 30 years for the callouses on my hands from swinging a broom or mop to go away. However, I didn’t have to show up until a half-hour before the restaurant closed at 11pm. I always liked the idea of working overnight. There are a lot fewer distractions at that time of the day.

I say that to say that I’d rather do just about anything than get up at the crack of dawn. Not for work, not for pleasure. But there isn’t a whole lot to do about it. My car registration is up for renewal this month, so I knew I’d have to brave the long lines at one of the city’s parking lots… sorry, inspection stations. I figured I’d go to the Washington Avenue station early on Saturday, since fewer people are actually downtown on the weekends.

In Line (or is it On Line?)

Set the alarm for 6am, knowing the station opened at 7am. Since I don’t always get up the first time the alarm goes off, I slept ’til 7.  I was in line at the station by about 7:25. It wasn’t nearly as busy as a weekday, but there were probably about 50 cars spread out among the several lanes. I give the staffers credit, because they were moving us through there at a pretty good clip, probably about 3 or 4 minutes per car. Because of that, and because my Toyota is in pretty good running condition for an 11 year old car, I was pulling out with my “passed” certificate by 7:55. Home again by 8 and got some chores done. I did eventually get back into bed for a few minutes, but was up again in time to watch Ohio State advance in the Big Ten Championship semifinals.

While the line wasn’t as long or as miserable as it could have been, it’s nice to see that the powers-that-be are at least thinking about exempting newer model cars from having to go through inspection. Funny that the manager of motor vehicle inspections and weights and measures for the city wants to do “modeling” to make sure that they’re not letting new cars slide by. Doesn’t this just mean the city would end up paying for the same type of modeling that every other city and state that have already done the same work to make their own decisions about exempting late model cars from emission inspections?

Thinking About Slowhand

Packed Forum

As I mentioned a week ago, I got to see the Eric Clapton / Roger Daltrey show at the FedEx Forum. The Who frontman was incredibly energetic and in fine voice, contrary to recent reports alleging that Daltrey had lost the best part of his voice after screaming non-stop since the early 1960s. While I enjoyed the Clapton portion of the show too, the reviewer for the Commercial Appeal did not, claiming that “Slowhand” was too slow, draining energy from the crowd.

Slowhand

Since the show, I’ve noticed a dichotomy. The older people who attended the show that I’ve spoken to seem to think that Clapton’s did a pretty good job, even though he wasn’t jumping up and down or racing back-and-forth across the stage. After all, isn’t the relaxed way he took the stage pretty much what he’s always done? Sure, you expect Roger Daltrey to start swinging that microphone – he’s probably got a guy on staff who’s been wrapping tape around those mics since the band was called the Detours. Younger people I’ve talked to who were there thought the Clapton segment was much less than expected.

Say What?

Looks like the same thing is going on at the city’s newspaper of record. CA editor Chris Peck used his Sunday column to take issue with Bob Mehr’s review of the show, saying he (Peck) thought more highly of the Clapton performance than his reviewer did. Just goes to show there’s a sliding value in the work of critics. There was a time when a poor review in the right paper could kill a show or film’s business. It could make you wonder when you saw something you thought was good but a reviewer hated. I feel fairly certain that they’re right about “Couples Retreat” being really bad. Same thing with anything Tyler Perry does.

About Doug Johnson

I spent 25 years in the news business, working in print, radio and television. After a steady rise to the middle, I made the leap to the private sector, which chewed and then tried spitting me out after 2 years. I zigged (instead of zagging) into a position in television production.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s All About Timing

  1. Pam Crittendon Roberson says:

    There you go, drinkin’ that hater-ade for Tyler Perry again….

Leave a Reply

