Workin’ at the Car Wash Blues

I’m tired. Partly because of a long working weekend. Partly because of what I’ve been through on my day off.

Had a leisurely breakfast and read the paper. Swung by the Apple Store to see if I could find a clear plastic case for my Mac Book. 13″, sure. 15″, bunches. 17″? Not a chance. I got over it and headed down Poplar to run my ride through Mr. Pride. Always liked the work they did washing cars.

Proud?

Proud Mister?

Well, apparently, I missed a memo. Instead of them cleaning out the inside and outside of cars like they used to, they’ve knocked their basic prices down and only do the outside now. That is, unless you’re willing to pay the $30 for their “valet service.” Otherwise, you drive the car up to the row of vacuum hoses, vacuum your own car, then drive it around to the opening of the wash, watch as one guy with a bucket of soapy water and a brush touches up the front, sides & back, and you sit there as the belt pulls your car through the wash and dry cycles.

In the car wash

In the car wash

I’ve been in dozens of car washes like that, but Mr. Pride was always different. They had scads of people in soggy shoes drying the outside and cleaning out the inside while you waited in the relative comfort of the cashier area. The nice thing about that is, that for a reasonable price, plus tip, you’d know the inside of the car was cleaned too. That’s often the part most of us will skip, if we’re going through a usual car wash. I can accept that the economy probably made it a lot tougher to keep an entire crew of car washers on staff when people were cutting back on a lot of expenses.

Of course, since I’ve got my own garage and hose now, I’ve been washing my own car for a year or so. I guess I’m going to have to get used to the idea that I’m just going to get a little less than I used to. That was also the case at my doctor’s office when I went in for a flu shot after the car wash. I walked out two hours later, after sitting in an empty waiting room for one of those hours. But that’s another post.

2 thoughts on “Workin’ at the Car Wash Blues

  1. Doug, here’s something that will make you feel better. If you’re in town tonight, come over to Harbor Town from 6-9 pm and get some free food and drink! The event is for downtown residents & businesses to promote Miss Cordelia’s, Harbor of Health, and inbalance FITNESS. Scott & I will be there.

Leave a Reply

