216

Down a wee bit

Down a wee bit

It was sort of an up and down week.  I still can’t fathom why I didn’t lose more weight last week.  Two weeks ago I was hardly eating; last week I ate more, but worked out more too.  There doesn’t seem to be a single technique I can use to drop about the same amount of weight each week.  Will power is fine and all, but man!  I find myself right about where I was last Sunday, and I already know I’m going to be annoyed if the scale at work does the same thing as last week and doesn’t reflect the same weight loss as the scale at home.

I gave some of my “small” clothes a tryout Friday.  Felt fine, but they might still be a bit tight… It’ll probably be another 5 pounds before I can make the switch from XL shirts to L’s.  Once I get off this plateau, that might actually happen.  As far as it goes, most people wind up plateauing at some point while they’re losing weight. The key there is to not let that become the new normal. Not yet, anyway.  It’s so easy to decide ‘oh, this is where my body wants to be, so why fight it?’

Jogging had been going without a hitch until last Tuesday… Literally, just before I stopped running, I felt a little twinge in my knee. Since I’m alternating days I jog with biking, it hasn’t gotten any worse.  I double-wrapped the knee Sunday and iced it after I was done.  I’m the same age as a friend who got a partial knee replacement last year. Another person I know got an entire knee replacement. Neither of them has seen a return to completely pain-free walking — so I’m hoping I’m still a few years away from anything like that.

I’m also trying to rotate through some of the WiiFit exercises I don’t do regularly. It’s pretty easy to slip into a rut with any kind of fitness. I think I read somewhere that it’s not a good idea to do the same exact exercises in every workout… the body gets used to those moves and they stop providing as much benefit.

If anything, I’m still marveling over the temperature drop over the last week or so. It hardly feels like a Memphis August at all. No complaints — also no excuses about getting outside.

Leave a Reply

