227.7

Losing...

Losing...

Okay, since making the point last Monday that 230 lbs. was about 20 too many, I’ve been busy. I’ve got a weight-loss contest going on at work (weigh-ins every Tuesday) with at least one person talking a lot of smack (isn’t that always the way?); I worked out every day since (except for Friday, gotta take a break sometime), and may already become acclimated to all this new activity.

I’m trying to drag myself out of bed just before 6am, so I can spend some time on my Wii Fit.  About 10 minutes on balance stuff, 10 on strength and yoga and 25 on aerobics. For the first 3 days, I followed up with another 35 minutes after work, either on the bike or trying to run.

Incredible!

Incredible!

It’s interesting, I don’t have much trouble running in place on Wii Fit, and didn’t have too much trouble when I used the treadmill in the gym at my old job. But once I get outside on the pavement, it’s like I’m trying to run with two small children strapped to my legs. I was limping around work until Thursday, it hurt so much. I can kind of imagine how Tom Watson felt toward the end of the British Open. His legs were definitely hurting by the 18th hole and all the way through that 4-hole playoff. Still, a masterful performance, and a shame he didn’t win.

No, no one's there yet!

No, no one's there yet!

I’m cutting back on most of the crap in my diet (most, but c’mon, a guy’s gotta have something to look forward to). I’m going to miss getting the fries every Monday at the Blue Monkey. Probably need to avoid the creamed spinach too. Since it’s actually less than a mile from the house, I’m thinking I’ll either walk or take the bike over for trivia. May as well exercise the body as well as the mind.

One note about the weights I’m posting. The ones I’m posting in the title line here are what the Wii Fit or the bathroom scale show; my new scale is at work for official weigh-ins. My first, fully-dressed, shoes on weight was 234.2 last Tuesday.

Goodbye Uncle Walter

Walter Cronkite, 1916-2009

Walter Cronkite, 1916-2009

Anybody who has worked in the news business in the last 30 or 40 years owes a debt to Walter Cronkite, who passed away Friday at the age of 92. He’s proof that the best television journalists don’t start in that business. After working on his high school and college newspapers, he spent time in radio before getting a job with a wire service in time to cover World War II. In those jobs, because you don’t have to concern yourself with how a story looks, it’s incredibly important to have the reporting and writing skill to tell readers & listeners what’s happening.

He had a great voice, but he was always able to bring a real journalist’s perspective to the stories he read as anchor of the CBS Evening News. You don’t always get that as much anymore. Which is not to say that some people in TV have a well-rounded background and happen to be beautiful. But some managers are too willing to skip the well-rounded background part.

The Old Days Are Gone

The Old Days Are Gone

It’s been a long time since he anchored the news every night. I was 25 when he retired. I’ve gone from Dan Rather to Peter Jennings back to Rather to Bob Schieffer to Katie Couric, and still miss Cronkite some nights. While some high schools have flashier looking graphics on their in-house programs than the old newscasts had, I believe Cronkite would have delighted in the technological advances in broadcasting, satellites, sending video over the Internet, blogging, tweeting, all of it.

He did good work, and should have been in the anchor chair a little longer than CBS let him. He brought gravitas without losing his regular guyness. Unfortunately, the expansion of news, followed by its current fractiousness, particularly on cable, means we’ll never see anyone else like Cronkite. And that’s the way it is, Monday, July 20, 2009. Goodnight and goodbye, Mr. Cronkite.

Leave a Reply

